[BNM] Paypal phishing URLs

Ali ali at nubz.com
Thu Mar 15 14:23:48 GMT 2007


aha thanks I learn something new every day, I quite like this way of expressing IP addresses! Can see how it would override an IP ban (not that I am subject to any.....)

Ali
  ----- Original Message ----- 
  From: Antony Jones 
  To: Brighton New Media 
  Sent: Thursday, March 15, 2007 2:09 PM
  Subject: Re: [BNM] Paypal phishing URLs


  > Because 1822468 equals the last three bytes that 27.207.4 equals in
  the
  > address.

  Basically, yes:

  Aside from IP addresses, there are 3 other ways to express IP addresses.
  You can also hit ip addresses as:

  * dword - meaning double word because it consists essentially of two
  binary "words" of 16 bits; but it is expressed in decimal (base 10);
  * octal is expressed in base 8; and
  * hexadecimal (base 16).

  The dword equivalent of 206.191.158.55 is 3468664375.

  AOL used to use them a lot, a long time ago.

  Antony Jones
  Developer
   
  Gamesys Limited
  e: antonyj at gamesys.co.uk
  t: 0207 478 8103
  a: 1st Floor, 54-62 Regent Street, LONDON, W1B 5RE
   
  Save trees and protect the environment - think before you print this
  email!
  > -----Original Message-----
  > From: bnmlist-bounces at brightonnewmedia.org [mailto:bnmlist-
  > bounces at brightonnewmedia.org] On Behalf Of Mark Ng
  > Sent: 15 March 2007 14:03
  > To: Brighton New Media
  > Subject: Re: [BNM] Paypal phishing URLs
  > 
  > Because 1822468 equals the last three bytes that 27.207.4 equals in
  the
  > address.
  > 
  > Mark
  > 
  > On 15/03/07, Ali <ali at nubz.com> wrote:
  > > Got another phishing email today - getting about 2 a week!
  > >
  > > The wierd thing I want to bring up is the link that hides behind the
  > official looking click here, on this one it was
  > >
  > > http://218.1822468/files/.www.paypal.com/
  > >
  > > how can this possibly resolve to a server address?
  > >
  > > Yours interestedly,
  > >
  > > Ali
  > > --
  > >
  > > BNM Subscribe/Unsubscribe: http://lists.wessexnetworks.com/cgi-
  > bin/mailman/options/bnmlist/
  > > BNM info/archives:
  > > http://www.brightonnewmedia.org/
  > >
  > > BNM archive search:
  > > http://www.roddis.org/bnm/search.php
  > >
  > > BNM powered by Wessex Networks:
  > > http://www.wessexnetworks.com
  > >
  > --
  > 
  > BNM Subscribe/Unsubscribe: http://lists.wessexnetworks.com/cgi-
  > bin/mailman/options/bnmlist/
  > BNM info/archives:
  > http://www.brightonnewmedia.org/
  > 
  > BNM archive search:
  > http://www.roddis.org/bnm/search.php
  > 
  > BNM powered by Wessex Networks:
  > http://www.wessexnetworks.com
  -- 

  BNM Subscribe/Unsubscribe: http://lists.wessexnetworks.com/cgi-bin/mailman/options/bnmlist/
  BNM info/archives:
  http://www.brightonnewmedia.org/

  BNM archive search:
  http://www.roddis.org/bnm/search.php

  BNM powered by Wessex Networks:
  http://www.wessexnetworks.com


  -- 
  No virus found in this incoming message.
  Checked by AVG Free Edition.
  Version: 7.5.446 / Virus Database: 268.18.11/722 - Release Date: 14/03/2007 15:38




More information about the BNMlist mailing list. Powered by Wessex Networks